Confession of a Book Whore


I LOVE books! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE  them!

I have read for as long as I remember. I probably started out reading Bible Encyclopedia’s (Thanks Grandma and Home Shopping Network!). I remember the pictures and being fascinated by the stories but not relating it to faith because at 4-5 years old you don’t really think about those things or at least I didn’t.

Library time was my favorite part of school. I could hide in the books and not feel so alone being the new kid with the funny name that was prime target practice. I got sucked into the paranormal side of reading pretty early. My first “real” book/series was RL Stine’s Cheerleader Saga and I was hooked! Demons possessing cheerleaders, what could be better?!?Tell me this cover doesn’t frighten and excite your 10 year old mind!

RL Stine - Cheerleader 1st book

 I was also really into Shel Silverstein. There isn’t anything that man wrote I didn’t read. I like to think I learned a few life lessons from his readings whether I realized it or not. There was message in each poem to love each other and ourselves, which is never a bad thing. At one point I could recite the entire poem of little Miss Peggy Ann McKay and why she could not go to school that day. It just brought a smile to my face looking it up again. I must go purchase his books! What is wrong with me? I’m so ashamed.

Sick - Shel Silverstein

I also read everything in between after that and in high school took a detour from books to write my own tormented poetry over some silly boy. After that train wreck I started reading more but it was the sappy stuff. Harlequin Romance……don’t judge me…..was my go too because hey don’t we all still want life to be that easy? I need to find a rich businessman that falls head over heels, forsaking all other women, for me so we can get into a HUGE fight then make up and live HEA. That’s real life people!!

Harelquin

By the time I became a “grown up” I was reading more series and less stand alone. I need more than 400 pages to be told a story. I’m a snob, I know but what are you going to do? I did get sucked into the Oprah Book Club for a minute but only for one book so I survived. It was The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver. It was an amazing story about a missionary family and it is still a favorite book of mind to this day.  I was also a HUGE Fern Michael fans for years but got burnt out between Texas, Vegas and Kentucky. It just got too emotional for me and I was dealing with enough of my own crap. I wanted to read something with more escape which brought me full circle back to paranormal. I addicted to the stuff. Vampires, Werewloves, Faeries, Witches, Demons…..you name it. Can you believe the series to bring me back was Twilight? I refuse to feel shame for enjoying the series and will probably read it again someday. The movies might have cause some uncomfortable moments but the books were perfect to me, as long as I skip part one of New Moon. Do not get me started on Jacob! The point is it created a real escape and made me want more. If I would never have read that series I would never have discovered Karen Marie Moning and my life would have been less for it. She has two series I highly recommend. The Highland Series  and The Fever Series   each series is amazing and will change how you look at a genre. I recommend reading about the Highlanders before you start Fever so the history makes sense but to each their own.

Reading to me is so important and something I think younger generations are missing out on with all the media and technology surrounding them. When I go to the library with my mom I rarely see a kid over the age of 10 and it’s sad. It’s much easier to see the movie but I’ve only seen a handful of movies that even scratch the surface of a book. You can’t tell a story in two hours and expect to get the full details.

In closing I’ll just say………..READ, READ, READ. Discover a genre or multiple genres that suck you in and make you miss work or school because you were up all night trying to read the entire thing in one night.

One thought on “Confession of a Book Whore

  1. I can relate to starting early in my childhood reading. I lived overseas on a military base and I can distinctly remember my 3rd grade teacher getting me hooked on a book she read the class about about witch who was also a teacher. She read aloud to us for the last 20 minutes of the day and when she finished the book she said there were more in the series. I was a goner. My sister and our best friends would spend Saturdays during the summer going to the pool with a stop at the library on the way home, lugging books home each time. As we got older Saturday was reserved for a movie, then the bookstore, the library and finally home. I am glad to say my 3 kids are the same way. I spend more money on books than anything else at Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

