#BookReview – The Hysterics – By Kristen Hope Mazzola


Once upon a time, I was Fallon Dunbar. Rock and roll, drugs, and bad decisions were the life I lived. I’d fallen so deep into the dark rabbit hole that I was certain I would never make it out alive. People like me didn’t get second chance. People like me didn’t get lifted from the darkness. So when the opportunity showed up, I had to take it. I walked away from everything I loved, everything that was killing me, and I became Fae Dunham. After that, I had behind makeup, long sleeves, and a closed-off heart. All was well until I met Dane Pearson. He wasn’t convinced of the new me, and whenever he was near, I felt like the old me, the real me, filled with passion and a love for music. Every day was a fight to not fall back down the rabbit hole. And every day, somehow, I slowly began to discover what it meant to fin myself. It was a hysteric rise, but it was ours. And I wouldn’t change a thing.

Hysterics Book Cover

 From the Author **18+ for sexual situations, language, and adult content.** This book is a standalone! In the Crashing Series there are some character overlaps with The Hysterics, so after you fall in love with Dane and Fallon in The Hysterics, you can see what they’re up to a few years in the future in Crashing Back Down: amzn.to/1uNpzmL

I had never read a series based on music or musicians prior to reading this book. I’m kicking myself in the ass for it now. I thoroughly enjoyed this book beginning to end. My only complaint is that it was too short, I wanted to keep reading and reading about Fallon and Dane forever!

From the first page you’re immediately drawn to Fallon. She’s a recovering addict and struggling the same way many of us do with trying to stay away from the temptations that make us feel good or more like ourselves.

Fallon is an extremely talented drummer but her addiction became so inter-weaved with her lifestyle that is nearly destroyed her. She was lucky to have an old family friend to help her create a new persona that ultimately saved her life. She drives herself every day to become Fallon Dunbar and leave Fae Dunham in the past with the chaos that was her life but can she really just split herself in two? Will her closing herself off from her true self enable her to heal?

Her family life leaves much to be desired. Fallon lost her police officer father at a young age and never forgave her mother for marrying her father’s partner. She even suspects they were having an affair prior to her dad’s death. She buried herself in music and was fortunate enough to see success. I also believe that lead to her eventual down fall. There were so many times while reading this book I just wanted to reach out and hug this girl. She couldn’t see how strong she was in being able to survive and persevere where many others have collapsed under that kind of turmoil.

When she meets Dane she’s immediately attracted. What’s not to like about a man that works full time, plays in an up and coming band and is easy on the eyes? To top it all off he’s a sensitive and strong man beneath the rocker exterior with his own pain. He doesn’t shy away when Fallon unloads her situation on him during multiple hang out sessions. He’s the full package, even if the package is damaged but then again aren’t we all damaged in our own way?

The chemistry between these two characters makes the pages sizzle. You feel the heat! This is a couple you want to see last the test of time. It was very much like reading about friends you see together that make you smile with how in tune they are with each other. The passion and intensity of both people just explodes when they come together. It does seem fast in the beginning but not for long, you begin to see there was never a chance for these two people not to collide.

The musically aspect of the story is written in so well you forget that the story is about two rockers, or at least I did from time to time. I just saw the two people. It killed me to have to set the book down at night or when my lunch break was over. Fallon and Dane kept running through my head demanding I finish their story and I couldn’t let them down!

One thing that hit me in the story that made me stop and reach out to the author was her reference to the book Loving Mr. Daniels. I happened to download that very book a few months back off amazon for free and fell in love myself. I’d never known anyone else to read it and thanked the author for actually referencing a book I was familiar with as well.

I highly recommend this book to everyone over the age of 18.

Check out the author on her Facebook and on her website! You can also find her and her book on Goodreads.com

Buy The Hysterics on Amazon and B&N.com

Leave a Reply

