#BookReview: Abruption by Riley Mackenzie


Everyone has a plan.

Dr. Guy Hunter secures his dream fellowship with a beautiful free spirit by his side. Two unexpected blue lines don’t even shake his resolve—he is on his way to having it all. Until he isn’t.

Abruption: a sudden breaking off

Jules Chiappetti loves her boisterous over-involved Italian family but is determined to pave her own way. An MBA and boardroom job is her ticket out. Until it isn’t.

Abruption: an unexpected event

Four years later, Guy is consumed by the challenges of being a single father, still struggling with the aftermath that derailed his life and left his son with special needs. He doesn’t realize his world went dark the same day his wife’s did, until Jules, his son’s new nurse, shows him the light. 

 25905148

I won this ebook in a group called Book Besties on Facebook and I’m extremely excited to have a chance to review it for you all!

Let me start off by saying had I known the subject matter I would not have read it when I did but that being said it’s one of the best standalone books I’ve ever had the chance to read. I swear I could hear a melody playing in the background as I read this book and that has only happen one time before, when I read the Time Traveler’s Wife. The authors uses their words so well they create an instant impact, so much so that you feel yourself being pulled along the entire book. These people are real, they matter and you want to see what life has in store for them both.

Abruption is the perfect name for this book. As the story unfolds you learn of the abrupt events that lead to each characters mental state. This is classified as a contemporary romance but I feel like it’s more than that. I feel like New Adult and Drama fit the feel of this book much better. I hate to place any age limit on reading but I would say if you needed a restriction that you might not was anyone under the age of 14 reading this without having foreknowledge of mental illness, sexuality and disabilities.

The prologue had me slightly confused but once I hit chapter 2 it made complete sense that the authors chose to start the book this way. I say authors and that’s confusing so let me clarify. Riley Mackenzie is the pen name for two writers who write under one name. Reading each chapter was like peeling a layer off an onion. You learn just a little more about each character and feel that connection just a little bit stronger. I just tell you enough how well written this entire book was and how much it really touched my soul.

You meet Jules first. I wanted to be her BFF right away, I was yelling in my head when my hand raised at “Pick me! Let’s hang out, I wanna be your friend!” She’s such a strong and confident character despite the traumas you learn about in the book that have placed in front of her that leads her to the path she’s on now. I think it could only be someone of such courage that could choose this specific path and flourish so well in it. The one thing I constantly asked myself about Jules the entire read was “How does she walk around with her heart no longer in her chest?”

For me Guy made quite the debut. He’s harsh, driven and 100% committed to his children. He’s also broken. In a very realistic manner, something you don’t always see in a book, you learn that Guy’s life plan didn’t turn out the way he had planned since childhood. Despite having done everything “right” and over achieving at every turn fate still decided that he wasn’t going to live the life he imagined for himself. I for one am glad that he didn’t but that’s only because he would never have met Jules and the journey they take together would never have happened.

The chemistry between these two characters is so intense and magnetic from the second they meet. The attraction doesn’t start right then and there but you feel immediately how their energies are drawn to one another. Having sewn her own world back together with such fragile thread you see how Jules is the perfect person to help Guy start healing his wounds as well.

There was never a point throughout the entire book where I felt like “OMG! When will this book end!” it was more like “Crap! I only have this many pages left?!?!” I hope I can explain it well enough but when I read each chapter it was like tuning into a favorite show that I didn’t have to wait a week to find out what would happen next. The flow and dialogue were so on point that it was just seamless.

I highly recommend this book! You won’t be disappointed. Find it on Amazon now for a great price!

To learn more about Riley Mackenzie and their books head to their Facebook page and say hello!

One thought on “#BookReview: Abruption by Riley Mackenzie

Leave a Reply

