What is Sleep?!?!


Did you know when you push forth a person from your body or decide to bring a baby into your home a switch is flipped on inside of you that prevents a restful sleep? I didn’t. I don’t think I’ve slept longer than 2-3 hours at a time since Emmie was born. It’s not her fault, well mostly, either! She’ll have those rare nights when she sleeps for a 4-6 hour stretch and I will still catapult out of bed to stare at her monitor just in case.

Collage 2016-07-12 14_13_27

Of course, there are also those nights I question if the child has ever heard of sleep. Like recently for instance, she’s decided that sleeping in two hour intervals is more productive than not. She’ll be 4 months old in about a week and according to Google and every parenting site I can stalk she’s in a growth spurt/leap/regression stage. Let me tell you, she’s been in one in one way or another since birth! I feel like maybe those sites and message boards were created with the sole purpose to make new moms and dads crazy. Just be straight with me folks, tell me I will not sleep again….EVER!

Being lolled into thinking that if she can just get past this leap/growth/regression we’ll all experience relief is ridiculous! I don’t know who I feel worse for, me or her. She’s doing all the growing, developing and teething and I’m the bystander that can only support her as much as is humanly possible.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining……ok maybe a little but I’m not blaming my baby. I just want to tell new parents the truth. It makes it so much easier to deal with when you finally learn that you shouldn’t expect an end in sight for some time, if ever.

If I hear “sleep when the baby sleeps” one more time I swear to you that I will burn down a building! It sounds nice but honestly when Emmie does sleep I want to use that time to unwind. I want to read or talk with my husband or watch a show scream free. Sleeping is the last thing on my mind. I’m too wired from the 2-4 cups of coffee I’ve had that keep me functioning anymore. If it weren’t for coffee and pop-tarts I think I would enter zombieland forever.

20160709_104939

I’m sure in the years to come when she’s sleeping all night and no longer cuddling in bed with me I’ll miss these times but as I’m currently living them I wish for nothing more than at least 4 solid hours of sleep. That includes not startling awake because she hasn’t cried out for me.

6 thoughts on “What is Sleep?!?!

    1. Thank you!!! I swear she looks like Ryan but my sister says she has my eyes 🙂

      I think sometimes I hyper focus and stress her out. I’m wanting each moment to last forever. She discovers new things each day.

      Yesterday she was trying to power lift the epsom salt off the counter I kid you not! I was holding her telling her that it was too very and she just grunted and kept trying lol

      Like

  1. So she is just as determined as her mother too!

    She certainty has your eyes. I saw that picture and immediately thought she looked just like you.

    Sounds like she is already working on her muscles!

    What makes her laugh the most?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She laughs at me when I make kissy noises, at Ryan when he tickles her armpits and my mom when she goes zombie and eat my moms face 🙂

      She also laughed at me the other night when she saw food fall from my mouth into my cup and she laughed at me!

      She’s got great legs! lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

