#WaldoWednesday


Is it Wednesday again already!

626bd473778c4d5dddb96845c3727949

I really like this quote. Just read it then sit there and and really think about it. “A great man is always willing to be little.”

To me this says that in order to become a better person, a more well rounded person that you must step from the spotlight and become the audience. You might now realize that you’re in that spotlight but when you shine brightly with ideas and have the voice to speak them it creates a spotlight.

I have recently encountered this in my work life. I was taught growing up that if we wanted to know something to look it up. I still carry that idea to this day so when I don’t know something I whip out my phone and head to Google to find the answers. I was told recently that this is perceived by some as being a “know-it-all” and that it is offensive to some. I was genuinely shocked! I had no idea that in wanting to learn more and spread that knowledge that I was making myself too large in this person’s eyes and needed to humble myself again. So I’ve taken to just sitting back and listening more. I store the need to want to know the answer away and research it on my own time. I no longer shout out the answer but wait for others to look to me before I speak. Is this a good thing? I’m not sure but to make my work life easier it is what I’ll do to promote peace and a happy work environment. I will be great by being little.

4 thoughts on “#WaldoWednesday

  1. I have had issues with that Google bit myself!! Like you, many of us have an insatiable thirst for knowledge and it does rub some folks the wrong way. Sometimes you just have to step back and allow others to shine.

    I’ve learned that lesson more than once and will likely need to hear it a few more times.

    πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

