I tried but just couldn’t……


I really didn’t want to write this post but I felt that I needed to because I usually only post reviews on books I’ve really enjoyed or at least liked enough.

glasses-1246611_960_720

Maybe you’ll see the books listed and like them enough to try them yourself or just take my opinion and not even try. The choice is yours!

  1. Vouloir By JD Chase: I really wanted to like this book. It’s a murder mystery and I thought it would be great to read something outside my wheel house but there just wasn’t enough going on in the first 20% to keep me interested. I really tried. I felt like all I was getting was bits and pieces of the story but they weren’t pieces that made me want to turn the page.
  1. Whistling Women By Kelly Romo: This book started out really interesting. A family fractured by jealousy and insecurity but never really lived up to the hype that was created in the first few chapters. The sisters had a falling out when the husband of the eldest sister tried hitting on the younger one and somehow that led to the youngest joining a nudist colony. While that sounds extremely interesting it wasn’t in the least.
  1. Everrealm By JD Wright: I really expected this to be good. Paranormal YA is right up my alley and I usually can find joy in reading them. This was not the case. The lead female in the story was too young and innocent to the point of being annoying. She came across as rude and immature and it made it hard to keep reading. I just couldn’t get past it.
  1. We Could Have Been Beautiful By Swan Huntley: This was a book I requested that I had such high hopes for, it was about an affluent woman who was tired of her life and heartbroken after being used twice for her money by lowlife men. It seemed like it should have been a great story about this someone rising above all the bull crap and becoming comfortable in her own skin without a man. Instead it was just her complaining about how hard it was being rich and not being able to break away from society. It was a serious let down.

I felt so bad not reading these through but it just wasn’t going to happen. I wish the descriptions hadn’t been so enticing because I would never have requested them. It would have been nice to read a sample and go from there.

This is not to say that others don’t have differing opinions and I’m sure loved each of these books. Maybe I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind for them but it is what it is.

11 thoughts on “I tried but just couldn’t……

  1. Sometimes, the best part of a book is the synopsis itself. I used to push on and finish everything, but I don’t do that anymore. I feel bad about it when it’s something I requested on Netgalley, but life is too short to force yourself to read something you aren’t interested in finishing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was my biggest issue lol it was all NetGalley books but then I felt like I should at least let them know…right? You’re right, life is too short and I don’t have the time to read things I don’t enjoy anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t even review them if I lose interest. I do send feedback to the publisher to let them know what’s going on, though. I’m probably going to end up doing that with a nonfiction book I requested. It’s about the history of the battle of Culloden, and even though I love reading about historic times/places, I’m having trouble getting interested in this one. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I saw someone talking about it on the Netgalley Readers group on Goodreads. I’m not sure if it will still get counted as feedback, now that they’ve changed the site. If not, I’m going to paste it into the note AND review section, so it doesn’t sit on my shelf dragging down my ratio.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Had to check. “Blogger (I review on my own blog)”

        I think you’d like the group on Goodreads… I don’t post much on there, but it’s a good source of information and a great place to meet other bookbloggers.

        Like

Leave a Reply

