#WaldoWednesday


I truly hope you all enjoy #WaldoWednesday as much as I enjoy writing it each week.

This week I decided that in honor of International Day of Peace that I would find a quote to show that as human beings we’ve always, at any point in our history aspired for peace.

9-21-16.png

Right out of the gate….”Peace cannot be achieved through violence” and when you really think about that you have to agree that it rings true. When has violence or revenge ever resulted in peace and harmony? I know that in moments on anger we all want to react and inflict the same harm on others that we feel has been inflicted upon us but is that really the answer? When I’m upset I  do my best to step back and not spew out the anger words that I want to use to cause damage. The same should be done when thinking of committing violence against another. Do you feel good about yourself or the situation when you do harm? Does it solve anything?

“It can only be attained through understanding” What does it cost us to step back and try to look at a situation though someone else’s eyes? What would the world be like if we all stopped and acknowledged that through better understanding and communication that more problems could be solved? I understand the need to “make them pay”, I really do but I also think about it and who is really paying? The person or people that bought violence or the so many others that are just trying to live and provide for a family like so many of us do everyday.

I guess I’ll just leave you with what I believe. It is so much easier to hate than it is to love. Hate creates fear that incites violence. Love creates understanding that inspires peace.

Leave a Reply

