I Will NOT Stay Silent


I’ve done by very best to stay away from the election on my blog. I don’t want that divisive energy casting itself on me or my followers but I can no longer stay silent.

l-200071

(www.pixteller.com)

I am a mother, a woman, a wife and a human being. I cannot keep to myself the anger and rage I feel at the Republican nominee only now being condemned by a party that used to have such great values and morals because more damning evidence of his disrespect for women has emerged and it too great to ignore or defend this time.

It wasn’t the language Mr. Trump used in these audio recordings or what I’ve seen him say on national television that has me so upset. It’s the tone and meaning behind those words. I don’t think he’s sorry for what he said. It’s a part of his persona or character, he says what he means and if you don’t believe that I can’t help you.

In my life I have dealt with experiences where a man thought it was ok to invade my space and assault me because he saw me as less than human. I’ve shared stories and conversations with many women over the years and while the perpetrators might be different the story is always the same. A man with no respect for boundaries or woman forced himself on her and took more than just his pleasures from her. He took a piece of her soul, a piece of her security in her rights to her own body that sometimes can never return.

When I think that someone like the Republican nominee or his supports forcing themselves on my daughter or anyone’s daughter I experience feelings so intense that I know if ever confronted with such events again that I will be responsible for the actions that I take against the predator.

I’m tired of seeing excuses from his supporters. I’m disgusted with the deflections because they can’t actually excuse what is being said so they go for classic misdirection. They hope you’ll be so outraged by what they tell you that you’ll forget that they support someone who has no respect for anyone or anything. I’m beyond understanding how even his children can stand beside him. There does come a point when even being family is not enough when confronted with someone of this caliber.

It saddens me that as a mother of a female child that I will have to teach her that there are people in this world who will not respect her because of her gender so she must always be aware. I will teach her to be cautious of people she because she cannot trust other human beings to exercise self-control and in all likelihood as the victim she will be blamed for being herself.  I will teach her to defend herself against mental and physical attacks.

This shouldn’t even be considered a political issue. This is a human issue. As human beings sharing a planet and more often than not claiming to following teachings of love, acceptance and tolerance we have become a society living in denial.

We do not love each other. If we did we would not tolerate or condone the actions of Mr. Trump.

We do not accept each other. If we did we wouldn’t have a nominee that openly makes fun of people with disabilities.

We are not tolerant. If we were we would not see a possible future leader attacking people based on their religious preference.

8 thoughts on “I Will NOT Stay Silent

  1. Bravo LizaJane! I’ve been trying to understand why people keep supporting him, but it’s getting more and more difficult. I understand that people are sick of Washington politicians and I even get that they dislike and distrust Clinton. I was a Bernie supporter! But honestly, there comes a time when you choose country before party. While Clinton may not be my first choice, I know she won’t destroy this country. I don’t think many of his supporters realize how dangerous Trump is. And when I think of the things he’s said against not only women, but minorities, it just makes me sick to my stomach. While I’m praying that this is the beginning of the end for him, Infear that it’s not. Even if he doesn’t win, there’s a large portion of our country that supports him and his ideas, and they’re not going away.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I am Canadian, but I hear all the rhetoric and have seen many commercials, posts, articles etc. about this man it scares the bejeezus out of me. Stay strong ladies, brighter heads are sure to prevail. Bravo to you for speaking out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Are the politics in Canada as stressful and extreme as they are in the US? I never seem to hear about these kind of things happening there. He scares me a great deal as well. I don’t want my daughter learning in history books later in life that our country could elect someone like him.

      Like

    1. I completely agree. I’ve mentioned to friends in conversation how he somehow became charming to people once he became a household name thanks to Apprentice.

      I knew it wasn’t a joke, I knew he wanted to see how he could go and still succeed and we’re seeing that now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

