#BookReview – Order of Seven by Beth Teliho


Eighteen-year-old Devi Bennett is surrounded by mysteries: her unknown heritage, a recurring dream about an African tribal ceremony, an inexplicable attachment to a certain tree and a psychic ability she’ll never understand—unless she finds her biological parents.

Things take a shocking turn when she meets Baron, an intense and alluring energy healer who receives prophetic dreams which all seem connected to her. Devi must rely on an empath, a seer, and Baron to help research her roots to discover who she is and what she is capable of. But when Baron’s visions lead to an ancient legend which may link to her birthright, Devi learns her gift is more imperative than she thought imaginable.

Equal parts suspenseful and sexy, philosophical and adventurous, ORDER OF SEVEN delivers a story that will leave you questioning everything you thought you knew about the hands that carry fate.

24994112.jpg

I received an audio version of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Audiobooks are hard. The story can be great but if the person narrating doesn’t convince you of that you aren’t going to finish the book. I’m so dang happy that wasn’t the case with Order of Seven by Beth Teliho!

Laurie Catherine Winkel narrated and completely brought Devi to life for me! The dialogue and word flow through-out the book was just amazing. It was like being 18-years-old again. That insecurity on the verge of blooming into confidence. Laurie is Devi in my head. It was very refreshing to read the f-bombs and sarcasm. There were a few times that I snorted or laughed out loud, much the chargin of my co-workers, while listening to the incredible book.

The story grabs you in the first chapter and holds on until the very end. You yearn to know about Devi and her brother, Nodin. Where they come from and how does it tie into ancient tribes in Africa? What secrets lay buried in their DNA?

Beth creates this entire world that is unlike any YA book I’ve read in some time. Her writing style is so realistic that you expect to see her characters the next time you’re in Texas or Oklahoma.

I loved the interactions between the characters. It was so natural and familiar. I just can’t get over how real it all seemed. The characters are complex but the story is simple, exactly the way a good book should be, in my opinion.

It’s no longer in my nature to giveaway any plots or twists so just let me say this. READ THIS BOOK NOW!

 

9 thoughts on “#BookReview – Order of Seven by Beth Teliho

  1. I have to say this made me a little teary-eyed! I’m so grateful for you! Thank you so much for taking the time to listen to Oo7 and put together such a thoughtful, gorgeous review. I’m am over-the-moon that you enjoyed and appreciated the exceptional job Laurie Winkel did. She’s incredible. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I got to the acknowledgments I kept thinking….so Order of Four is next right, right….right!!! 🙂 You have a masterpiece on your hands and my only regret is that it took me so long to read/listen to your book.
      Laurie is a true talent.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

