Nursemaid what?!?


It was a typical night. Dinner was cooked and eaten with gusto. Baths had been taken, with the majority of the water staying in the tub. Laughs could be heard throughout the house, until that cry of pain that wouldn’t go away. It bought our household to an immediate stop.

Why wouldn’t Emmie stop crying, why was she holding her arm so limp? She could squeeze my fingers. She did her best to stop crying but just the slightest touch to her arm started the tears anew.

There was no swelling or bruising, did she fall on it in her attempts to walk? She can’t tell me what’s wrong, only cling to me in the hopes that I can make it better.

Do I take her to the ER? The Urgent Care? Am I being too paranoid or not paranoid enough? What is the right answer?

20170406_060023
Not a morning person…at all…

At 7pm all urgent cares are closed and the ER wait time didn’t look good either. A dose of ibuprofen helped to calm her nerves and help her sleep but what would the night bring until morning. How early could I call the doctor?

With my nerves on edge, I started the one thing that helps me in all crisis, I began my google searches. I asked the direct question, “Why is my baby holding her arm so still at her side?” Googles answer: Nursemaid’s elbow!

What is Nursemaid’s Elbow you ask?  It is when a ligament slips out of place and gets caught between two bones of the elbow joint.

It is completely common between the ages of 1 and 6. Who knew? Not me.

With this knowledge under my belt I began to research ways to fix the problem at home. I read what needed to be done and saw that it was a process that would take a medical professional under 5 minutes to fix. That’s not to say I was or am opposed to her being treated by medical professionals, that’s not the case at all. I just knew at this point that it wasn’t serious enough for the ER but didn’t want her to suffer all night while we waited for her doctor’s office to open.

Being the woman that I am, I knew that I could do this. I could fix my baby and take away her pain. Feeling more secure I laid down for the night and waited for her to wake up. Sure enough by 10pm she had stirred, causing the pain in her arm to flare and cried for her Mama.

I gently lifted her from her crib and carried her into my Mom’s room. I placed a firm grip above her elbow like the website instructed and with my other hand gently turned her arm, palm down and away from her body. I heard and felt the pop immediately. She yelled out for a moment before reaching for me.

I thanked my mom for her help and took Emerson into the living room where we laid on the couch as she fell back to sleep. Once her breathing evened out and her body relaxed I let out my own breath in relief. I FIXED HER! I did it!

This morning she is back to her charming self. She’s laughing, snorting and leaving her typical trail of destruction across our home in her wake. My little tornado.

What I found to be so odd is that with all the reading on parenting and children that I do on a daily basis that I had never heard of this Nursemaid’s Elbow. With it being so common, one would think that it would be a more talked about topic.

With the crisis averted I knew it was something I needed to write about. I wanted to make sure that more parents were/are familiar with this common aliment and to know that it is something that can be fixed at home.

8 thoughts on “Nursemaid what?!?

Leave a Reply

