#TakeItPersonal?!?


pexels-photo-205000

Have people always taken everything so personal?

Is this really a 21st century mentality?

I’ve noticed more and more than conversation and debate with people who think differently from you is becoming nearly impossible. When you get deep into the topic and become passionate people are quick to assume that passion is directed at them and not at the topic at hand.

I’m guilty of it myself. There are times I start to feel that the person I’m interacting with has turned the conversation into a personal attack.

The topic is dropped and the focus becomes changing my mind. Not broadening my view but making me understand that my views are wrong and that I need to change them.

In this, I hope I am not guilty. I never set out to change other people’s beliefs, values or ideals. I simply want to provide more knowledge. I believe that we can only grow and evolve through experience and shared knowledge.

In order to understand and respect others we all need to be able to listen. More often than not we hear words but are so busy waiting to respond we fail to acknowledge others.

I know I’m getting pretty deep but that’s where I’m at lately. I’m inside my head most the day, thinking and looking for ways to grow. Once I’m home I’m interacting with my daughter and hoping that I’m instilling positive qualities in her, despite the fact that she’s a year old and just wants to play.

I’m done with being meek around those who make me uncomfortable, I’m turning the tables. I will no longer be intimated by people who want to bully me into their ideals. I will assert my power and knowledge.

2 thoughts on “#TakeItPersonal?!?

  1. It definitely seems to be a trending mentality. I was chatting with another blogger recently about this! I have noticed that you cannot even strike up a bit of debate or share an opinion on many discussion posts without being met with an aggressive or defensive response. Then what is the point of having a “discussion” post?!

    I am guilty of wearing my heart on my sleeve and being sensitive at times. But I am also very aware of this. So if I feel myself become defensive or upset, I generally go find a few moments to rationalize with myself. I like to try my best to see all sides and keep an open mind.

    Great food for thought this morning! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

