Sewing with your left hand should be more fun…


Hey guys!

Have you missed me?

19905006_1624727704228889_5910041059107668784_n

I spent nine days at home for a staycation this year over the holiday and loved every minute! I got to spend all day, every day with my daughter.

It gave me a glimpse of what it would be like to be a stay at home mom. It was bittersweet. It taught me a great deal and gave me even more respect for all stay at home moms.

Being a working mom I feel that more often than not I see my co-workers more than I see my family. But at the same time I feel that I’m teaching Eme early that nothing is without sacrifice. 

I know Eme was beyond excited to wake up to her Mommy every morning. She had the biggest smile for me each day. She rarely let me out of her sight! I worried this would be an issue when I went back to work on Monday but she practically pushed me out of the door, so no worries there!

As you all know I live in Las Vegas and its summertime so much of my time was spent indoor, away from the sweltering heat that is the desert. When we did venture out it was usually the back yard and almost always included playtime in our little pool or turning on the hose.

Eme actually got over her fear of the shower because of the attachment on our hose. She made that connection of the water coming from the hose being no different than the water in the shower and now she’s obsessed with showers. She stands in the stall and dances, giggles and shouts at the water. She’s completely in love.

I also spent time clearing clutter, now I need to have a yard sale. But I’m wondering if it might turn into an online yard sale just because it’s so dang HOT!

On the last day of my vacation I did something that was a big deal for me. It was something that even a year ago I would have cancel or found an excuse to avoid. Many of you have read my post about my social anxieties and the panic I feel when being put in the spotlight or am faced with large crowds.

About five weeks back I connected with an exceptional human being. We met in a Facebook group for my favorite podcast, Unpopular Culture, and really hit it off. Nick G, it turned out was also a podcaster. He has this really funny and down to earth show called The Dependent Independent. He mentioned having me a guest host and I didn’t think much of it but then he contacted me directly.

I was immediately nervous! I’m not an interesting person! What would I have to offer? What would we talk about? Nick gave me the date and I immediately began talking myself into it. This was a chance to break outside my box and to do something that scared me beyond the norm.

So Sunday night we recorded the show over Skype. It debuted yesterday and I’ve gotten wonderful feedback from family and friends. Nick did an amazing job of hosting and guiding me through it all. I’m going to post the link below and I hope you all get a chance to listen. I’d love to hear more feedback.

//html5-player.libsyn.com/embed/episode/id/5526375/height/90/width/700/theme/custom/autonext/no/thumbnail/yes/autoplay/no/preload/no/no_addthis/no/direction/forward/render-playlist/no/custom-color/52cff7/

I’ll now start my own research and will be interviewing next within the next two weeks. I really hope you enjoy the show and become a huge fan of Nick’s. His show is refreshing, fun and insightful.

I highly recommend checking out more episodes of The Dependent Independent on your podcast app. If you’ve never listen to a podcast before and don’t know which app to use, check out Castbox, it’s available on iTunes and Android.

Check out Nick’s Facebook page for blog posts and old shows. If you’re more visual check out his YouTube Channel.

3 thoughts on “Sewing with your left hand should be more fun…

Leave a Reply

