Guest Takeover! Marie Benedict, Author of The Other Einstein


“What draws her to historical fiction and what the research process was like for her?”

9781492637257-pr

            When I was young, I was lucky enough to have a wonderful aunt — who was an English professor, poet, and a forward-thinking nun — who provided me with a constant stream of intriguing literature. One birthday, she gave me the present of a book that challenged my perspective on the world. That book was Marion Zimmer Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon, a thought-provoking re-telling of the Arthurian legend from the perspective of the women in Arthur’s life, Guinevere and Morgan LeFay. This book made me wonder at the other untold stories that exist in legend and history, and set me on the path toward excavating women’s narratives from the past. Continue reading “Guest Takeover! Marie Benedict, Author of The Other Einstein”

Advertisements

#BookReview – Order of Seven by Beth Teliho


Eighteen-year-old Devi Bennett is surrounded by mysteries: her unknown heritage, a recurring dream about an African tribal ceremony, an inexplicable attachment to a certain tree and a psychic ability she’ll never understand—unless she finds her biological parents.

Things take a shocking turn when she meets Baron, an intense and alluring energy healer who receives prophetic dreams which all seem connected to her. Devi must rely on an empath, a seer, and Baron to help research her roots to discover who she is and what she is capable of. But when Baron’s visions lead to an ancient legend which may link to her birthright, Devi learns her gift is more imperative than she thought imaginable.

Equal parts suspenseful and sexy, philosophical and adventurous, ORDER OF SEVEN delivers a story that will leave you questioning everything you thought you knew about the hands that carry fate.

Continue reading “#BookReview – Order of Seven by Beth Teliho”

#BookReview: Saving Phoebe Murrow by Herta Feely


Have you ever tried to be the perfect Mother?

A timeless story of mothers and daughters with a razor-sharp 21st century twist, this heart-wrenching debut for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jane Shemilt and The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas will make you question how you and your family spend time online

Isabel Murrow is precariously balancing her career and her family. Hard-working and caring, worried but supportive, all Isabel wants, in a perilous world of bullies and temptations, is to keep her daughter Phoebe safe. Phoebe has just attempted suicide. She says it is Isabel’s fault.

Saving Phoebe Murrow is a timely tale about an age-old problem – how best to raise our children, and how far to go in keeping them from harm. Set amidst the complicated web of relationships at the school gate, it tells a story of miscommunication and malice, drugs and Facebook, prejudice and revenge.  Continue reading “#BookReview: Saving Phoebe Murrow by Herta Feely”

Should I write a book and other ramblings….


I was talking with an author last night and this morning in my media group on Facebook. She gave some great advice on how and what to write about. She said to take what you’re passionate about and create your story from there. She said if she were to guess that JK Rowling was passionate about social injustice because of the theme in Harry Potter.

typewriter-801921_960_720

I never thought about any of this. I have just always tried to think of a story itself and go from there….I never get far. I’m horrible with detail and don’t always have the words I need to explain myself properly. I thought about it all night and kept coming back to something that I have always supported. Continue reading “Should I write a book and other ramblings….”

#BookReview: The Choices We Make by Karma Brown


Following her bestselling debut novel Come Away with Me, Karma Brown returns with an unforgettable story that explores the intricate dynamics between friends and mothers

Hannah and Kate became friends in the fifth grade, when Hannah hit a boy for looking up Kate’s skirt with a mirror. While they’ve been close as sisters ever since, Hannah can’t help but feel envious of the little family Kate and her husband, David, have created—complete with two perfect little girls.

She and Ben have been trying for years to have a baby, so when they receive the news that she will likely never get pregnant, Hannah’s heartbreak is overwhelming. But just as they begin to tentatively explore the other options, it’s Kate’s turn to do the rescuing. Not only does she offer to be Hannah’s surrogate, but Kate is willing to use her own eggs to do so.

Full of renewed hope, excitement and gratitude, these two families embark on an incredible journey toward parenthood…until a devastating tragedy puts everything these women have worked toward at risk of falling apart. Poignant and refreshingly honest, The Choices We Make is a powerful tale of two mothers, one incredible friendship and the risks we take to make our dreams come true. Continue reading “#BookReview: The Choices We Make by Karma Brown”