Hope, Faith, Country


Donald Trump has been in office 1 year, 96 days, 21 hours and 42 minutes as I write this sentence. My heart and my sense of country is heavy with sadness and doubt.

pexels-photo-129112

I’ve been interested in politics since my senior year of high school. I had a teacher than really impressed upon me the importance of knowing your rights as a citizen of the USA. I have never felt as proud of my status as an American until I entered her classroom. She changed my world. I will forever be grateful to her opening my eyes to the world around me. Thank you Ms. Snively! Continue reading “Hope, Faith, Country”

Advertisements

#BookReview: One Hundred Years of Marriage


In a series of interlocked stories Louise Farmer Smith, the author of ONE HUNDRED YEARS OF MARRIAGE, pierces the myths through four generations of one American family’s mismatched marriages–the teenage girl lifted out of the hunger and chaos that followed the Civil War; the suicidal wife isolated on the Oklahoma prairie; the china painter whose husband cannot make a living; and her daughter who dreamed of luxury. Dark? Yes, but full of humor too. These six stories move backward in time to search out the influences on the next generation–the standards, prejudices, and overheard conversations that they forget but carry with them when they choose a spouse.
This novel in stories is a practical pre-history of the momentum leading to women’s liberation. It is a substantial addition to the social history of American women. Thoroughly researched the stories compellingly paint the settings of post-Civil War pioneer life and the female-dominated 40s, with the men at war.
Continue reading “#BookReview: One Hundred Years of Marriage”

Hi Dad….I have issues!


pexels-photo

I had an epiphany recently, one that shouldn’t have taken me so long to realize but it is what it is, right?

I‘ve always been very open and vocal with my issues regarding my father and his lack of attentiveness once I hit puberty. I came to understand that he made choices about what he considered was a priority in his life and I wasn’t one of them. Its fine, I’m over that. What I didn’t realize was how it would affect me once I became a parent. Continue reading “Hi Dad….I have issues!”

Changes…


I feel a change coming. I’m not sure if that change will be in myself or an event surrounding me but it looms just over the horizon. I do not fear this change. I am oddly calm and ready for whatever is coming. I have already accepted it for what it is and I find myself prepared.

desk-1148994_1920

What strikes me about this feeling, is that I know it will have long term impact. This isn’t a small hiccup in life that will smooth over. This is something that is going to cause new paths to form. Continue reading “Changes…”

#BookReview – The Secrets of Lake Road by Karen Katchur


I received this eBook from NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review.

A haunting story about the destructive power of secrets, this accomplished and gripping suspenseful women’s fiction debut is perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf

Jo has been hiding the truth about her role in her high school boyfriend’s drowning for sixteen years. Every summer, she drops her children off with her mother at the lakeside community where she spent summers growing up, but cannot bear to stay herself; everything about the lake reminds her of the guilt she feels. For her daughter Caroline, however, the lake is a precious world apart; its familiarity and sameness comforts her every year despite the changes in her life outside its bounds. At twelve years old and caught between childhood and adolescence, she longs to win her mother’s love and doesn’t understand why Jo keeps running away.

Then seven-year-old Sara Starr goes missing from the community beach. Rescue workers fail to uncover any sign of her—but instead dredge up the bones Jo hoped would never be discovered, shattering the quiet lakeside community’s tranquility. Caroline was one of the last people to see Sara alive on the beach, and feels responsible for her disappearance. She takes it upon herself to figure out what happened to the little girl. As Caroline searches for Sara, she uncovers the secrets her mother has been hiding, unraveling the very foundation of everything she knows about herself and her family. The Secrets of Lake Road by Karen Katchur is a riveting novel that is impossible to put down and hard to forget.  Continue reading “#BookReview – The Secrets of Lake Road by Karen Katchur”